July 17, 2014

Council Names Casey Anderson as Planning Board Chair

The Montgomery County Council has named current Planning Board member Casey Anderson as the new board chair. He follows former Chair Francoise Carrier whose term expired June 14. She did not apply for reappointment.

Anderson was appointed by an 8-1 vote. Council President Craig Rice, Vice President George Leventhal and Councilmembers Phil Andrews, Roger Berliner, Cherri Branson, Nancy Floreen, Nancy Navarro and Hans Riemer voted in favor of his appointment. Councilmember Marc Elrich was opposed.

Anderson is a Silver Spring resident. An attorney and community activist, he was appointed to the Planning Board in June 2011. Previously, he served on the boards of the Washington Area Bicyclist Association, the Citizens League of Montgomery County, the Coalition to Stop Gun Violence and the Committee for Montgomery.

Read more.