March 10, 2022

31 Recipients of Montgomery’s 2022 ‘Women Making History Award’ Announced

The Montgomery County Commission for Women and Montgomery Women have announced that 31 people will be recognized with the 2022 Women Making History Award. The award is given to outstanding women of the County making significant contributions in their vocation and in the community.

This year’s recipients are:

Mary K. Alvord, Dania L. Ayoubi, Eden G. Bekele, Shruti Bhatnager, Brandy H. M. Brooks, Sonya Bruton, Katrele Carroll, Judith Clark, Christina DeFiore, Jennifer Dickens, Teresa A. Doley, Nicole Y. Drew, Yasmeen Faroqi-Shah, Carrie Fox, Sharon Friedman, Fiona Glade, Joan B. Goodman, Elizabeth S. Haile, Madeline Hannington, Sarah Hedlund, Kathleen Henning, Roxie Hill, Neha Kohli, Francesca Pellegrino, Patricia Ritter, Alexandra Robbins, Allison Stearns, Kathy Stevens, Farah Marie Towfic, Drena Valentine and Robin Wiener.

“Congratulations to the 31 outstanding women who are receiving this award for their invaluable contributions and selfless service to others,” said County Executive Marc Elrich. “They have all made significant contributions in Montgomery County and shown exceptional leadership, serving as an inspiration. As we honor the women who have made history, we must also continue to build a culture of empowerment and opportunity for the next generation of female leaders.”

Nominees were submitted by their peers based on criteria such as unselfish leadership and hard work in their field, exceptional leadership in civic activities, developing or supporting programs resulting in positive social action and being an inspiration to others as a role model. In addition, nominees had to either reside or work in Montgomery County.

Recipients of the award and their accomplishments will be featured each day in March on the social media platforms of the Montgomery County Commission for Women and Montgomery Women. They also will be recognized at the “Women Making History Panel Discussion” at 7 p.m. on Thursday, March 24. This year, the event will be held via Zoom.

For more information about the award and upcoming event, contact Committee Chair Ijeoma Enendu at

For more information about the organizations, visit the Montgomery County Commission for Women website at or Montgomery Women website at