March 16, 2022

Legislation Approved that Will Relieve County Municipalities of ‘Tax Duplication’

Montgomery County Executive Marc Elrich was joined this week by County Councilmembers Andrew Friedson, Sidney Katz and Nancy Navarro; Monique Ashton, president of the Montgomery County Chapter of the Maryland Municipal League; and other municipal leaders for the signing of Bill 2-22 will relieve residents who live in incorporated cities and towns from paying duplicate taxes for services.

The legislation is the result of almost 20 years of work and negotiations. It will be phased in gradually.

The bill will double the County’s reimbursement for municipally delivered services from $10.1 million for Fiscal Year 2022 to $20.5 million in FY23. The bill requires an 80 percent phase-in for FY23, a 90 percent phase-in for FY24 and a complete phase-in for FY25.